Robert Shwartzman Clinches Belgian Sprint Victory and Title Lead

Robert Shwartzman emerged victorious in an incident packed Belgian Sprint Race to reclaim the championship lead. (Image credit: Bryn Lennon/Getty Images)

Robert Shwartzman reclaimed the championship lead after clinching victory in the Belgian Sprint Race following an early collision between Roy Nissany and Dan Ticktum.

Nissany and Ticktum tussled for the lead throughout the opening three laps with Ticktum producing an outside move into Les Combes, only to be clipped and launched over the kerbs before spinning Nissany upon re-entry into the barriers as Shwartzman swept past into the lead and to victory with the point for fastest lap too.

Callum Ilott meanwhile was spun out on lap one by title rival, Yuki Tsunoda which meant that Shwartzman reclaimed the championship team by ten points from Ilott, with Tsunoda now 21 points behind the Russian in third with ten races left of this season.

Speaking post race on the start and resulting win after Ticktum and Nissany collided, Shwartzman said; “Today, I had a decent start and was P3 out of Turn 1. The guys in front were quite aggressive so I was being a bit cautious with them. They crashed and collided, and I used that opportunity to get past them.”

“After that, I just kept up my pace and I am really happy to have the win and the fastest lap as well.”

Mick Schumacher and Guanyu Zhou rounded out the podium placings ahead of Nikita Mazepin, Luca Ghiotto, Louis Deletraz, Christian Lundgaard and Artem Markelov, who claimed his first point of the campaign in eighth.

Nobuharu Matsushita didn’t make the start after his MP Motorsport car was too badly damaged from yesterday’s Feature Race crash to be repaired in time.

Dan Ticktum got the lead into Turn One from Roy Nissany at the start but an incident on lap four gifted Shwartzman victory. (Image credit: Clive Mason/Getty Images)

Nissany made a strong start but Ticktum snatched the lead into La Source only for the Israeli driver to reclaim the lead into Les Combes, which saw Ilott spun out on the exit by Tsunoda who received a five second time penalty ultimately costing the Red Bull protégé seventh and two points at the flag.

Nissany survived a consequential two lap safety car but Ticktum got the better traction upon the restart and launched an outside move into Les Combes, only to be tapped by Nissany who sent him high over the kerbs and powerlessly collected Nissany upon re-entry to send the Trident spinning into the barrier.

Shwartzman who was just behind the pair in third quickly swept around the outside as Ticktum gathered control of his DAMS to claim the lead, from which he never conceded throughout the remainder of this race.

Upon the second safety car restart on lap seven, Ghiotto had a wide moment at Raidillon to concede sixth to Schumacher whilst Deletraz got Ticktum for second into the Bus Stop chicane.

Ticktum however fought back on the Kemmel Straight to reclaim second as Deletraz as Aitken got Ghiotto for seventh, only to receive a 10 second stop and go penalty a few laps later for starting out of position on the grid.

Deletraz began to struggle with his tyre wear and come lap 12, Ticktum found himself defending from Schumacher who eventually got past on the Kemmel Straight with DRS, with Zhou taking third from Ticktum a lap later via a sweeping outside move through Campus.

A Virtual Safety car was briefly deployed on lap 15 after Jehan Daruvala spun Marino Sato at the Bus Stop chicane to cap off a disastrous race for Trident, who had started the Sprint with Nissany on pole.

Ticktum eventually began to struggle for grip as he conceded two positions to Mazepin then Ghiotto on lap 16, before Deletraz, Tsunoda, Lundgaard Markelov got past as the Brit clung onto tenth despite a last gasp move from DAMS teammate, Juri Vips which wasn’t finished off neatly on exit of the Bus Stop chicane on the final lap.


Race Result

Position Driver Team Laps Time
1 Robert Shwartzman Prema 18 42m 44.391
2 Mick Schumacher Prema 18 + 9.025
3 Guanyu Zhou UNI-Virtuosi 18 + 11.193
4 Nikita Mazepin Hitech GP 18 + 20.945
5 Luca Ghiotto Hitech GP 18 + 21.907
6 Louis Deletraz Charouz 18 + 25.182
7 Christian Lundgaard ART GP 18 + 26.796
8 Artem Markelov HWA Racelab 18 + 30.492
9 Yuki Tsunoda Carlin 18 + 30.559
10 Dan Ticktum DAMS 18 + 32.126
11 Juri Vips DAMS 18 + 32.331
12 Pedro Piquet Charouz 18 + 32.832
13 Felipe Drugovich MP Motorsport 18 + 33.041
14 Giuliano Alesi HWA Racelab 18 + 33.448
15 Guilherme Samaia Campos 18 + 34.729
16 Jehan Daruvala Carlin 18 + 44.078
17 Jack Aitken Campos 18 + 1m 16.304
18 Marino Sato Trident 13 Spin
19 Marcus Armstrong ART GP 10
20 Roy Nissany Trident 3 Collision
21 Callum Ilott UNI-Virtuosi 0 Spin
DNS Nobuharu Matsushita MP Motorsport 0 Damage

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.